Julian: When it comes to scientific publishers, I just don’t know who to trust anymore.

Julian:

This article is a direct follow up of my previous post: How can we trust scientific publishers with our work if they won’t play fair?

When I posted my last post I knew who the good guys were: PLoS ONE, a non-for-profit open-access journal who had agreed to publish a controversial article and were actively seeking for permission for us to reuse figures from other journals.

I also knew who the bad guys were: Wiley, a huge publishing house that makes large profits directly from our science and library budgets and who were refusing us permission to reuse images.

The story got a lot more attention than I had expected. Wiley and Nature Publishing Group both submitted comments on the blog, the Times Higher Education wrote an article about it, some other blogs picked it up, and quite a few people contacted me privately. However, it turns out things are a lot less simple than I had thought.

Continue reading at Julian’s blog.

Leave a Reply

