A not so warm welcome…

Our new immigration rules will have to be revised if we do not want to endanger our collaborative research culture, warns Mathias Brust:

“Owing to a couple of early childhood experiences of travelling from one side of the divided Germany to the other, I must have developed an intuitive knack for border crossings. This may explain why I lied the last time a British immigration official wanted to know my reason for coming to the UK. Rather than admitting that I was a professor of chemistry at the University of Liverpool and owned a house in this country, I said I was coming here to visit friends of mine.

That there was wisdom behind my spontaneous lapse I learnt last Sunday evening when I received a phone call from Immigration at Liverpool John Lennon Airport. They had detained a “female” and wanted to know if her claim that I had invited her to conduct ad honorem research in my laboratory was correct.”

Read the entire article (Times Higher Education).

2 comments

Leave a Reply

